First Blog for Devon Life Magazine

14 Jan

I might be little bit quiet blogging on here for a bit, I’ve just started blogging for Devon Life Magazine, here’s my first post… STORIES, EVENTS AND VISITS TO ART GALLERIES AND MUSEUMS

Or read it here

Title: Stories, Events and Visits to Art Galleries and Museums

Summary: A taste of my blog about the creative and cultural happenings in Devon.

Hello and welcome to my blog, my name is Claire and I’ve lived in Devon all my life. I’ve been working in art galleries and museums for the past couple of years, but have been visiting them all my life.

I enjoy seeing challenging contemporary art, such as at The Saatchi Gallery in London, especially after writing my dissertation looking at the role Charles Saatchi played in shaping contemporary art, or at Spacex gallery in Exeter, where I worked. I equally enjoy visiting my local museum and getting to know its story and the story of its collections. I worked at Torre Abbey in Torquay for a year and was still learning about its mysteries when I left. For example, did you know that Torre Abbey’s jewel painting, ‘The Children’s Holiday’ by William Holman Hunt, was given to Torre Abbey as a copy of the original? The wealthy family in Australia sent the painting to Torre Abbey, thinking they had retained the valuable original, only to lose that painting in a fire. Later Torre Abbey was approached to lend the painting for a national exhibition and it was discovered that the family had sent the wrong painting to Torquay, and that in fact the original Holman Hunt had been sitting in Torre Abbey all those years!

As I write my blog I hope to go in search of fascinating stories, attend private views, talk to artists and write about the latest creative and cultural happenings in Devon. If you’d like to bring any event or news to my attention then contact me via twitter @ShinyShoeClaire or email claire.bryden@googlemail.com

One Response to “First Blog for Devon Life Magazine”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Holidays in Devon, Things to Do and Places to Stay | Fun Things To Do With - October 27, 2011

    […] #split {}#single {}#splitalign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#singlealign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#splittitlebox {text-align: center;}#singletitlebox {text-align: center;}.linkboxtext {line-height: 1.4em;}.linkboxcontainer {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;background-color:#eeeeee;border-color:#000000;border-width:0px; border-style:solid;}.linkboxdisplay {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;}.linkboxdisplay td {text-align: center;}.linkboxdisplay a:link {text-decoration: none;}.linkboxdisplay a:hover {text-decoration: underline;} function opensingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = ''; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = 'none'; } function closesingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = 'none'; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = ''; } Fishing Holidays in Devon Provide you with an Idyllic Holiday VacationHolidays with Devon, Things to attend to and Locations to remainHow to get by far the most From The Devon B&B Accommodations Throughout HolidayWhy You need to Invest Your Romantic Vacation in Hotels in DevonTravel Health Insurance Can Be A Necessity When You TravelHoly Fairyland – Jiuzhaigou Scenic Spot in China ÂSafety, Violence, Drugs, And Other Reasons To Vacation In Oaxaca, Mexico Castle Howard: Reel Enchantment from a Real Home – Manicure At HomeFirst Blog for Devon Life Magazine […]

Leave a Reply

